Question


seeker1169
Gender: Unknown
Country: Unknown
Threads: 1, Posts: 2
#0

What does " dust balance " mean



Posted: 11/23/2017 2:52:55 AM
Lafu
Gender: Unknown
Country: Unknown
Threads: 124, Posts: 250
#1

What does " dust balance " mean

seeker1169: 11/23/2017 2:52:55 AM

   If you use this button you will send the whole amount of the coin to dust and you dont have it anymore ! 

   Be sure if you would like to do that !!!!!!



Posted: 11/23/2017 8:15:25 AM
Anirudhi
Gender: Unknown
Country: Unknown
Threads: 0, Posts: 1
#2

I used dust option by mistake.. any my coin is on dust bin... is that possible to recover my dust coin

 



Posted: 11/25/2017 4:54:58 AM
Cosmo1782
Gender: Unknown
Country: Unknown
Threads: 0, Posts: 1
#3

Why is this even an option?  Just hang on to your coin in even tiny fractions.  Who knows they might go up in value over time.



Posted: 12/6/2017 8:57:17 PM
Ahmet_memedovski
Gender: Unknown
Country: Unknown
Threads: 1, Posts: 2
#4

how can this be an option? i sent 300,00 coins to dust by accident. *&^%%^



Posted: 12/16/2017 7:47:11 PM
Somewhere
Gender: Unknown
Country: Italy
Threads: 0, Posts: 2
#5

is it not possible to recover them? for sure? that sounds crazy!! I've deleted an amount of coins by mistake cos i wanted to delete an order... what a scam...



Posted: 12/28/2017 11:52:43 AM
xou
Gender: Unknown
Country: Unknown
Threads: 0, Posts: 1
#6

Bumping the thread. Anything can be done? I put an order, it is still pending, but instead of cancelling I clicked the option to dust it. What happens if my coins get sold? Will the balance get dusted? What will happen if I cancel the order myself?



Posted: 12/29/2017 9:00:57 PM
antigen
Gender: Unknown
Country: Unknown
Threads: 0, Posts: 2
#7

Yes somebody please help, I have just done the same thing.



Posted: 12/31/2017 3:48:29 PM
antigen
Gender: Unknown
Country: Unknown
Threads: 0, Posts: 2
#8

I had mine in the order list for sale, and they did actually sell at the set point, despite being 'unavailable' and presumably pending dusting.

I would suggest just leaving the pending order active and it will process normally, but cancelling the order MIGHT submit for dusting. This is not confirmed though.



Posted: 12/31/2017 11:54:45 PM Edited: 12/31/2017 11:55:00 PM
dankdabco
Gender: Unknown
Country: Unknown
Threads: 0, Posts: 1
#9

I did the same thing!! why would there be an option to delete coins to the dust bin???  Support WHERE ARE YOU???



Posted: 1/1/2018 4:51:43 PM
nahso89
Gender: Unknown
Country: Unknown
Threads: 0, Posts: 1
#10

why is this even an option... scammers.. I thought it was to sell the coins for $BTC.. 



Posted: 1/10/2018 2:44:56 PM
ShovelReadyJob
Gender: Unknown
Country: Unknown
Threads: 1, Posts: 101
#11

Dust happens...but yeah, that sucks, sorry man.

All that dust probably ends up in a wallet, what does Cryptopia do with the funds not sure. Hopefully they

are used in their random reward scheme.

Dust is even worse in Binance since you can't trade decimal points and they take the fees right out of

your currency (coin) puchased at the time, i.e: you buy 10 x coin, they charge trade fees, you end up with 9.45 x coin now.

You turn around and want to trade this coin, but you can't trade 9.45, you can only trade 9 (no decimals). Now your 0.45 is dust.

You might get lucky, price of that coin moons over and at some point that dust might be enough for you to meet the min withdrawl fee and withdraw it.

You can mitigate this issue by using the Binance coin for fees so that your purchases of coins remain integer and have no decimal point.

Hope this explains dust a bit.

Next chapter, dust bunnies...stay tuned!



Posted: 1/10/2018 3:04:16 PM Edited: 1/10/2018 3:05:16 PM
xtraelv
Gender: Unknown
Country: Unknown
Threads: 18, Posts: 594
#12

How can you "accidently" dust your balance ? It requires 2 confirmations. One on the bin and a second one to confirm that

you are ABSOLUTELY sure that you want to discard it and that it is NOT reversible.

 

 

https://i.imgur.com/DSI1Vmw.jpg



Posted: 1/14/2018 11:50:54 AM
jubeth
Gender: Unknown
Country: Unknown
Threads: 3, Posts: 6
#13

Even with the warnings you could still click Enter twice by accident, if your cat or 6 year old bumps onto your keyboard. It's completely STUPID to even have this option anywhere.

Nobody would ever require or need to throw away their virtual money. It would indeed be logical if dusting would mean it would go back to your wallet of choice without any further interaction.

So yeah, it's not good for cryptopia, I'd call this a scam. I'll empty out all my wallets from cryptopia as soon as it makes sense to move to another exchange, like, perhaps, altcoin.io (now in beta)

 



Posted: 2/1/2018 10:22:40 AM
RaviShubhamStanley
Gender: Unknown
Country: Unknown
Threads: 0, Posts: 1
#14

Cryptopia takes away the coin that you accidentally dusted and never gives you back that thing! It's their way of unfair earning.



Posted: 2/11/2018 8:49:43 AM Edited: 2/11/2018 8:50:55 AM
xtraelv
Gender: Unknown
Country: Unknown
Threads: 18, Posts: 594
#15

Cryptopia takes away the coin that you accidentally dusted and never gives you back that thing! It's their way of unfair earning.

RaviShubhamStanley: 2/11/2018 8:49:43 AM

 The feature was requested by many users and quite a few exchanges have it. I use it myself and I know many other traders that use it as well.

No point keeping coins I don't support and have been airdropped to my balance without my approval. Why keep 0.00000002 BTC of a shitcoin ?

Some people hoard everything in the hope it will be worth 20 cents in 2025 while others like to keep a tidy house.

 

If you accidentally "dust" your balance it can be reversed by creating a support ticket.  There will be a LONG wait since there is only one admin that has 

the ability to reverse dustbin issues.

 



Posted: 2/11/2018 1:26:13 PM Edited: 2/11/2018 1:35:10 PM
xtraelv
Gender: Unknown
Country: Unknown
Threads: 18, Posts: 594
#16

Even with the warnings you could still click Enter twice by accident, if your cat or 6 year old bumps onto your keyboard. It's completely STUPID to even have this option anywhere.

 

jubeth: 2/1/2018 10:22:40 AM

 If you leave your Cryptopia account logged on a unattended computer then you are using very poor security protocols. There are many more ways that I can think of that can cause you to lose your balance or cause severe loss.



Posted: 2/11/2018 1:30:03 PM