Chat

Trollbox
Users Online: 0

2 noob questions from a new trader

RogueEagle
Threads: 2, Posts: 5

Hi,

Sorry for the painfully noob questions - I'm new to trading and mining but I'm eager to learn. 

When I look at the exchange buy/sell pages for any currencies, I notice that nobody seems to be trading any round fractions of a currency (ie. .10, .25 , .50, 1.0) but weird amounts like .00005 and 0.27333. Is there any reason for that? If one has a whole coin to sell is it better to split up into smaller transactions or sell it as 1.0?

Also I see at the bottom of the buy/sell trades (particularly for eth) some people are offering to buy like 300 eth for 0.00001c. Is that a deliberate move to catch people out, or do these outrageous bids serve another purpose?

Appreciate your help/time/consideration!

Posted: 8/2/2017 2:46:45 AM Edited: 8/2/2017 2:48:12 AM
v17
Threads: 0, Posts: 25

i) oddie fractions

Suppose that I'm trading in and out of one coin; say LTC, and a smallcoin at a few hundred satoshis per smallcoin.

For my first trade, I might buy exactly 100.0 smallcoins, and for my last buy of the morning I want to use up every last miserable miserly fraction of a litecoin, so that might go through as a fraction in which every digit is statisticly random, which might look like 68.45645733

In the afternoon I sell exactly 100 smallcoins and exactly all that messy fraction of smallcoins.

On my next buying round, I might get exactly 100.0 smallcoins at a slightly lower price, and then spend what remains, for example 74.65465477

So the act of using up all of my coins does result in some trades having very random-every-digit quantity.

If I'm not using the calculator, then none of my trades will have eight statisticly random digits, for example 68.4 and 74.6

ii) cheeky lowball offers

I don't  have the spare cashflow to put down thousands of these, but there are some whales who might.